Book Review: Eleanor & Park (Rainbow Rowell)

https://i2.wp.com/www.ourvalleyvoice.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/Eleanor-Park-Book.jpg

Titel: Eleanor & Park

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Publisher: Orion Books

Pages: 325

Rating: 4,5/5

Quick Summary:

Eleanor and Park are both very special. They are in their teenage years and go to the same high school since Eleanor moved to Omaha. So Eleanor and Park meet the first time when Eleanor gets into the school bus and her classmates start to bully her. Park is the one who lets Eleanor sit beside him. From then on they somehow develop a special, lovely relationship. Step by step they both let their curtains down and start to comfort each other. Espacially for Eleanor it is hard to open up because she has a difficult family backround. I do not want to give too much information away for those of you who did not read it yet, but even though Eleanor is struggeling with trust issues, in the end, Park might be exactly the right one to open up to.

What’s on my mind:

I just finished Eleanor&Park last night and decided to write the review right away because there are so many thoughts on my mind! To be truely honest with you, I did expect something completely different. I thought this book would be a cute, romantic, non-problematic, love-story, maybe involving some songs… yeah, that’s what I thought it was. In fact, it was a book about a love-story, yes, but also about being self-confident, the whole bully-problem at high schools, domestic abuse and, and,and…

What I liked was that Eleanor and Park were portrayed so realistic. They were not the typical shy girl, who was actually soo beautiful, and maybe the captain of the football team who has a soft side. She is fat, that’s a fact, I guess. And Park likes to wear make-up, so what? The only thing that annoyed me sometimes, was that Eleanor and Park were in love but fighting all the time! I mean, yes, Eleanor has issues and Park has too, but why, WHY can’t they just be okay with being together?

It didn’t make me cry, but it definetely made me feel. A lot of things. I was angry at her family, not just her stepdad, but also her mom and her teacher, even her busdriver! I was in love with Park, with Maisie, with Parks mom, even with Mrs Dunne. I feel like this book shows you the sides of life that suck, like being fat and getting picked on, like feeling not accepted or loved, like feeling alone and scared. But it also shows you the good sides of life like understanding that there is alsways someone who loves you, someone who is good at heart. And more importantly someone, who can be strong. In this case, Eleanor herself.

I have to say, I always like a book when I learned something from it. And this book made me learn a lot. I used to be the kind of kid who would make of people that weren’t the way they „should“. I wasn’t a bully, I wouldn’t say that, but sometimes I was mean. It’s not like I didn’t know that ‚til I read this book, but it’s always nice to be reminded to be good. The best you can!

Okay, gettiing a little emotional here, but anyway, everyone should read this! It is definetely a quick read, so it doesn’t take a lot of your time. And it makes you happy 🙂

Recommendation:

I would recommend Eleanor&Park to everyone, because I want everyone to read it 🙂 But I think, you would enjoy it a lot more when you are into love stories!

2 Gedanken zu „Book Review: Eleanor & Park (Rainbow Rowell)“

  1. Oh, ich dachte auch, es wäre einfach eine leichte Liebesgeschichte. Aber wenn es tiefgründiger ist, ist es ja eigentlich noch besser. Es klingt auf jeden Fall mal nach etwas anderem, schon allein wegen den Hauptcharakteren. Auf meiner Wunschliste stand das Buch ohnehin schon, aber jetzt habe ich wenigstens eine Vorstellung davon, was mich erwartet. 😀
    Liebe Grüße!

    Gefällt mir

Kommentar verfassen

