Book Review: The Shock of the Fall (Nathan Filer)

My first review in English!!! Okay, I hope this is going well.
So today I’m going to write about the amazing novel The Shock of the Fall, written by Nathan Filer.

text from the back of the book (no! I will not write blurb, just sounds too ridiculous):

„I’ll tell you what happened because it will be a good way to introduce my brother. His name’s Simon. I think you’re going to like him. I really do. But in a couple of pages he’ll be dead. And he was never the same after that.“

Without reading the book, the story from the back of the book does not really reveal anything about the actual plot. Now in retrospective, I can see what they did there and suddyendly the text from the back of the book contains every single information this book provides. But back to the begiining, I will try to retell the story a abit:

So our main character of The Shock of the Fall is called Matthew. Basically he is the one who narrates the story, his story. And one can say, his story is pretty sad. His younger brother Simon, who was born with some kind of handicap, dies in a horrible accident in which Matthew was involved. From then on, we find out about the family, mostly Matthew’s parents, and the way they try to handle their grieve. His mother starts to take pills and Matthew often retells situations where there is huge miscommunication between his mom and him.
For me personally, it wasn’t clear from the beginning on, that Matthew is schizophrenic. Maybe it’s because of my language barrier, because i read the book in English, or it’s because this information was somehow concealed until it was named later on.

Summed up, The Shock of the Fall is a novel about grief, about (of course) schizophrenia, and basically about how to get back to life.

I liked a lot of things about this book. I have to that the way how Matthew describes his feelings was so honest that it made me cry. It wasn’t only once that I actually wanted to get to know him as a real person. I wanted to make him happy and tell him that everything’s gonna be okay. Don’t get me wrong, this book didn’t make me feel depressed, it just got me emotionally involved, which is great, I think!
Another aspect I liked was the information the book provided about the desease schizophrenia in general. I’m interested in studying Psychology in the future, so maybe this is not interesting for anybody. But the way, Matthew described how Simon disappeared basically everywhere, even when he just turned on the water tap, was just brilliant. It gave such a realistic insight in the life of a schizophrenic – it’s not just hearing voices.

Rating:
The Shock of the Fall is definetely worth 5 out of 5 stars!

Recommendation:
Everyone should read this book. It doesn’t matter if you’re into Sci-Fi or Romance, Fanatsy or Dystopia. We should try mor to intigrate mental illness and metal ill people into our lifes and I believe that this book can take away your fear of the foreignness that surrounds this whole topic.

Kommentar verfassen

